Serverless Champions

Takahiro Horike

Takahiro HorikeDigitalCube Co. Ltd

Takahiro Horike is a Software Engineer at DigitalCube Co. Ltd. He is the author of Serverless Dashboard for Atom and Serverless Step Functions plugin, and a Serverless Framework core maintainer.

Interview with Takahiro Horike

Tell us about your background. How did you get into programming?

I majored in electrical engineering as a college student. In Japan, during your senior year of college, everyone is assigned to a lab.

During my lab assignment, I ended up needing to write a simulation of visualizing electromagnetic waves. That’s how I got involved in software programming for the first time. I instantly loved it.

After graduating, I started working at an IT company near my hometown, creating a mobile web application with PHP, JavaScript and HTML. From there, I worked on various other web application projects. The foundation of my programming skills was built on those experiences.

One day, I started learning WordPress from my co-worker. That was my first experience diving into the OSS community. I really took advantage of their events and meetups. Then I started organizing events myself, creating WordPress plugins, and so on.

I think my open-source mindset was formed at that time.

How did you get into serverless computing in general? Can you reflect upon your serverless journey over the years?

Since the announcement for Lambda and API Gateway in 2014!

I had been an AWS user since my current company, Digital Cube, started offering a hosting service for WordPress on AWS.

After graduating, I started working at an IT company near my hometown, creating a mobile web application with PHP, JavaScript and HTML. From there, I worked on various other web application projects. The foundation of my programming skills was built on those experiences.